Dec 7, 2019

Angela Vincent, M.Sc., Honored for Excellence in Epilepsy Research at the American Epilepsy Society’s Annual Meeting

View More Press Releases

Press Release

Saturday, Dec. 7, 2019
8:45 a.m. EST

BALTIMORE - Angela Vincent, M.Sc., FMedSci, FRS, received the Research Recognition Award, clinical science, at the annual meeting of the American Epilepsy Society (AES), a medical and scientific society whose members are dedicated to advancing research and education for preventing, treating and curing epilepsy.

Vincent is an emeritus professor of neuroimmunology at the University of Oxford and has affiliations with University College and Kings College, London. As an honorary consultant in immunology, she established and directed the Oxford Neuroimmunology Service from 1992- 2016. She was president of the International Society of Neuroimmunology (2001-2004), head of the department of clinical neurology (2005- 2008), and associate editor of Oxford Academic’s Brain Journal of Neurology (2004-2013).

Although she is not a neurologist, Vincent received the 2009 Association of British Neurologists medal and the 2017 World Federation for Neurorehabilitation (WFN) Medal for scientific contributions to neurology. In 2018, she received the Klaus Joachim Zülch Prize with two other doctors. She was elected Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2002 and Fellow of the Royal Society of London in 2011.

Her past and current interests include clinical and serological studies on patients with neuromuscular junction disorders (myasthenia, MuSK-myasthenia, Lambert Eaton myasthenic syndrome, peripheral nerve hyperexcitability) and acquired disorders of the central nervous system associated with antibodies to receptors, ion channels and associated proteins, which causes a wide range of issues including amnesia, seizures, psychiatric and movement disorders. She also pioneered the role of maternal antibodies in causing neuronal pathology that could influence susceptibility to developmental and other neurological diseases. She received her M.B.B.S. and M.Sc. in biochemistry from University College of London.

The AES Research Recognition Awards are given annually to active scientists and clinicians working in all aspects of epilepsy research. The awards are designed to recognize professional excellence reflected in a distinguished history of research of important promise for the improved understanding and treatment of epilepsy. These awards include a $10,000 honorarium.


Davis Renzelmann
Public Communications Inc.

About the American Epilepsy Society

Founded in 1936, the American Epilepsy Society (AES) is a medical and scientific society whose members are dedicated to advancing research and education for preventing, treating and curing epilepsy. AES is an inclusive global forum where professionals from academia, private practice, not-for-profit, government and industry can learn, share and grow to eradicate epilepsy and its consequences.