Annual Reports

The American Epilepsy Society deeply appreciates all the ways that members, donors, grantmakers, industry supporters, volunteers, and others make our work possible. Thank you for all you do.


AES By the Numbers 2018AES By the Numbers 2019AES By the Numbers 2020


Click to enlarge [PDF]


Click to enlarge [PDF]

by the numbers


Click to enlarge [PDF]

2022 Donors

Legacy Circle arrow_drop_down
Vicki D. Anderson*
Nancy M. Andrews Estate*
Peter & Suzanne Berry Family Trust
Donna M. Brastine Irrevocable Trust*
Arthur John Carlson*
Lois M. Catano Trust*
Mary Winifred Dilbeck *
Henry M. Fenton Trust*
Dr. Robert and Donna Fisher
Evangeline Amelia Fowler Estate*
Eugene H. Hussey Revocable Trust *
Barbara Johnson *
William Wayne Kizer Trust*
Charles Robert Morhauser *
Donald C. Parrott Trust *
Lorraine M. Parrott Trust *
Sarah Penry*
Drs. Michael D. Privitera and Marcia Kaplan
Anne Rubin Trust*
Anna L. Scovell*
Kira Sergievsky Trust*
Dennis A. Sokol
Dorothy R. Talbert Revocable Trust*

Richard L. Zambrano Irrevocable Trust

* Deceased

Gifts received between November 1, 2021 and October 31, 2022.
Contributors are listed alphabetically by last name.

Innovator Circle arrow_drop_down
Ellen Andrews, MD
Aaron L. Cardon, MD
Arthur Cukert, MD, PhD

Robert B. Duckrow, MD and Elizabeth Duckrow, MS
Rosalyn and Irwin Engelman Philanthropic Fund
Saadi Ghatan, MD
Howard P. Goodkin, MD, PhD, FAES
Robert E. Hogan, MD, FAES
Ilo E. Leppik, MD
Eli M. Mizrahi, MD, FAES
Eileen M. Murray, MM, CAE
Martin D. Penry
Awais Riaz, MD, PhD, FAES
Kathleen Rieke, MD
Raman Sankar, MD, PhD, FAES
Shlomo Shinnar, MD, PhD, FAES, and Ruth Shinnar, RN
Kenneth Sommerville, MD, FAES
Dennis D. Spencer, MD, FAES
Stanley Szortyka
John M. and Joan F. Thalheimer Family Charitable Foundation
Azreena Thomas, MD, FAES
Daniel J. Weber, DO, FAES
Andrew Zillgitt, DO, FAES

Gifts received between November 1, 2021 and October 31, 2022.
Contributors are listed alphabetically by last name.

Discovery Circle arrow_drop_down
Elinor Ben-Menachem, MD, PhD, FAES
Benevity Community Impact Fund
Gregory K. Bergey, MD, FAES
Thomas P. Bleck, MD, FAES
Bob and Maureen Bonney
Amy Brooks-Kayal, MD, FAES
Gordon F. Buchanan, MD, PhD
Jose E. Cavazos, MD, PhD, FAES
Kevin E. Chapman, MD, FAES
Jeannie Chin, PhD
Steve C. Danzer, PhD
Marc A. Dichter, MD, PhD, FAES
Michael A. Frale
Jacqueline A. French, MD, FAES
William D. Gaillard, MD, FAES
Give Lively Foundation Inc.
Madeleine M. Grigg-Damberger, MD
Robert E. Gross, MD, PhD
Lawrence J. Hirsch, MD
John Huguenard, PhD
Frances E. Jensen, MD, FAES
Barbara C. Jobst, MD, PhD, FAES
David M. Labiner, MD, FAES
Fred A. Lado, MD, PhD
Daniel H. Lowenstein, MD
Kimford J. Meador, MD, FAES
Lawrence D. Morton, MD, FAES
Suzan Nadi, PhD
Edward J. Novotny, MD, FAES
Susan J. Oliver, MBA
Manisha N. Patel, PhD
Patricia E. Penovich, MD, FAES
Serge Pierre-Louis, MD, MPH
Annapurna Poduri, MD, MPH, FAES
Roger J. Porter, MD, FAES
Michael D. Privitera, MD, FAES
Mark Richardson, MD, PhD
Ashley Russell
Paul A. Rutecki, MD
Dragos Sabau, MD, FAES
Mona Sazgar, MD, FAES
Shawna L. Strickland, PhD, and David D. Strickland
Jerzy P. Szaflarski, MD, PhD, FAES
William H. Theodore, MD, FAES
Steve and Janet Walker

Gifts received between November 1, 2021 and October 31, 2022.
Contributors are listed alphabetically by last name.

Explorers Circle arrow_drop_down

Taylor Abel, MD, FAES
Dara V. F. Albert, DO
Jane Allendorfer, PhD, FAES
Jane Anders
Christine M. Baca, MD
CAF Charities Aid Foundation of America
Jean E. Cibula, MD, FAES
Kelly Conner, PhD, MMSc, MS, PA-C
Douglas A. Coulter, PhD, FAES
Amy Z. Crepeau, MD, FAES
Brian and Barbara David Charitable Gift Fund
Orrin Devinsky, MD, FAES
Chris Dulla, PhD
Barbara A. Dworetzky, MD, FAES
John and Patricia Endicott
David and Rita Evans
Andres Fernandez, MD
David Friedman, MD
Stephen P. Fulton, MD
Maria Garcia
Gena Ghearing, MD
Frank G. Gilliam, MD, MPH
Christin M. Godale, PhD
Alica Goldman, MD, PhD, FAES
Kevin D. Graber, MD
David A. Greene
L. John Greenfield, Jr., MD, PhD, FAES
Zachary M. Grinspan, MD, FAES
Christina Gurnett, MD, PhD
Susan T. Herman, MD
Lindsay M. Higdon, MD
Carolyn R. Houser, PhD
Nathalie Jette, MD, MSc, FRCPC, FAES
Emily Johnson, MD, FAES
Sucheta Joshi, MD, FAES
Kenneth R. Kaufman, MD, MRCPsych, FAES
Kwang Ki Kim
Kelly G. Knupp, MD, FAES
Esther Krook-Magnuson, PhD
Deepak Lachhwani, MD, MBBS, FAES
W. Curt LaFrance, Jr., MD, MPH
Alice D. Lam, MD, PhD, FAES
Jong Woo Lee, MD, PhD, FAES
Ralph and Kelly Lenamon
Brian Litt, MD
Tobias Loddenkemper, MD, FAES
Maria Raquel Lopez, MD, FAES
Joaquin N. Lugo, PhD, FAES
Gabriel U. Martz, MD, FAES
Marta Maschio, MD
Brendan McCrea
Guy M. McKhann, II, MD, FAES
Jeremy Moeller, MD, FAES
John C. Mosher, PhD
Heidi M. Munger Clary, MD, MPH, FAES
Jo Anne Nakagawa
Elia Pestana Knight, MD, FAES
Donald Phillips, MD, MPH
John Pollard, MD, FAES
James J. Riviello, MD, FAES
Kinshuk Sahaya, MD, fAES
Jay A. Salpekar, MD, FAES
Justin F. Searle
Patricia O. Shafer, MN, RN, FAES
Christopher T. Skidmore, MD
Jeremy D. Slater, MD, FAES
Georgette Smith, PhD, APRN, CPNP-PC, FAES
Veronica Sosa, MD
Michael R. Sperling, MD, FAES
Carl Stafstrom, MD, PhD, FAES
Alan Towne, MD, MPH, FAES
Paul Triebkorn
Ignacio Valencia, MD, FAES
Eileen P. Vining, MD
Robert T. Wechsler, MD, PhD, FAES
James W. Wheless, MD, FAES
Hannah Whitten
Elaine C. Wirrell, MD
Gregory A Worrell, MD, PhD
Thomas Wychowski, MD, FAES
Deepti Zutshi, MD, FAES

Gifts received between November 1, 2021 and October 31, 2022.
Contributors are listed alphabetically by last name.

Financial Information

The American Epilepsy Society is a 501(c)(3) organization. Donations are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law.

We advance our mission through careful and thoughtful stewardship of all sources of revenue. Click here to view AES financial information.