Jul 15, 2022

AES Announces 2022 Summer Research Interns

View More Press Releases

Press Release


CHICAGO, IL (July 15, 2022)-- Six research institutions have been awarded American Epilepsy Society (AES) grants to support summer research internships for six undergraduate students from groups historically underrepresented in medicine and the neurosciences, AES announced today.

The students, all of whom are interested in epilepsy as a career path, are participating in an AES pilot program designed to deepen the commitment of promising young scientists to medical and/or research careers, introduce them to the epilepsy community, and promote their careers by featuring their work at the upcoming American Epilepsy Society Annual Meeting in December 2022. Institutions receiving AES grants are University of Alabama at Birmingham, Baylor University, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Kansas Medical Center, University of Michigan, and University of Virginia School of Medicine.

"AES is committed to investing in attracting and supporting diverse and talented professionals to the field of epilepsy. The emerging scholars participating in this program are inspiring, and we look forward to their future contributions to improving the understanding, treatment and prevention of epilepsy," said Farah Lubin, PhD, chair of the AES Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee. "We are excited about the potential of this program to reach the best and brightest while they are exploring their interests and options, and to nurture their career growth--which in turn will support our goal of growing a well-trained and increasingly diverse workforce of epilepsy clinicians and scientists."

Students and their mentors participating in the inaugural program are:

  • Ariana Crary (Colorado State University) - Manisha Patel, PhD (mentor), The Patel Lab, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Leighton Alexander Douglas (Baylor University) - Joaquin Lugo, PhD (mentor), Lugo Lab, Baylor University
  • Bridley Jenkins (North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University) - Ukpong Eyo, PhD (mentor), Eyo Lab, University of Virginia School of Medicine
  • Pablo Legaz (University of Miami (FL)) - Adam Rouse, MD, PhD and Carol Ulloa, MD (mentors), Precision Neural Dynamics Lab, University of Kansas Medical Center
  • Forest Diane Nandjou (Alabama A&M University) - Farah Lubin, PhD (mentor), Lubin Lab, University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • Bryana Sandy (Michigan State University) - Lori Isom, PhD (mentor), Isom Lab, University of Michigan


Labs chosen for the program receive a $10,000 grant which is to be used to cover intern stipends, as well as housing, travel and other direct costs of the internship. Students also receive complimentary membership in AES, complimentary registration for the AES Annual Meeting, an additional travel stipend to attend that meeting, and invitation to participate in mentored events at the meeting and to present at the Broadening Representation Inclusion and Diversity by Growing Equity (BRIDGE) poster session.


Davis Renzelmann
Public Communications Inc.

About the American Epilepsy Society

Founded in 1936, the American Epilepsy Society (AES) is a medical and scientific society whose members are dedicated to advancing research and education for preventing, treating and curing epilepsy. AES is an inclusive global forum where professionals from academia, private practice, not-for-profit, government and industry can learn, share and grow to eradicate epilepsy and its consequences.