Dec 5, 2021

Carl E. Stafstrom, MD, PhD, FAES, Receives the American Epilepsy Society's 2021 Founders Award

View More Press Releases

Press Release


CHICAGO - Carl E. Stafstrom, MD, PhD, FAES was presented with the 2021 Founders Award during the 2021 Annual Meeting of the American Epilepsy Society (AES). One of the most prestigious awards given by the Society, the Founders Award, established in 1966, recognizes members who have a record of lifetime contributions and accomplishments related to epilepsy. The award is funded by the AES Lennox and Lombroso Trust. 

Dr. Stafstrom is Professor of Neurology and Pediatrics and Director of the Division of Pediatric Neurology at The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, where he holds the Lederer Endowed Chair in Pediatric Epilepsy. His clinical activities encompass the range of pediatric neurological disorders with an emphasis on severe childhood epilepsy and developmental epileptic encephalopathies. Research interests include the mechanisms of epileptogenesis and neuronal excitability in the developing brain, effects of seizures on cognitive function and seizure susceptibility, dietary approaches to epilepsy management, and children’s self-perceptions of neurologic disorders through art. 

He has served AES in numerous capacities including chief editor of Epilepsy Currents, chair of the Investigators Workshop Committee, and chair of the Partnership for Pediatric Epilepsy Research grants committee. Dr. Stafstrom has authored more than 400 research articles, chapters, and commentaries, and has co-edited 5 books. He has served as associate editor of Epilepsia and has reviewed and received grants from NIH, Epilepsy Foundation, The Charlie Foundation, and several other agencies. Dr. Stafstrom currently chairs the Scientific Program Committee of the Child Neurology Society and is a faculty advisor for the Child Neurology Career Development Program (K-12). 

A dedicated educator who places high priority on mentoring and teaching medical students, residents, and families. Dr. Stafstrom has received 25 teaching awards, including the 2012 American Neurological Association’s Distinguished Neurology Teacher Award. 


Davis Renzelmann
Public Communications Inc.

About the American Epilepsy Society

Founded in 1936, the American Epilepsy Society (AES) is a medical and scientific society whose members are dedicated to advancing research and education for preventing, treating and curing epilepsy. AES is an inclusive global forum where professionals from academia, private practice, not-for-profit, government and industry can learn, share and grow to eradicate epilepsy and its consequences.